Tom Petty said it best…

January 17, 2007 at 5:20 pm (The Final Quarter, Writing)

“The waiting is the hardest part.”

Got a note from the editors at Fast Ships, Black Sails yesterday. They’re swamped and still wading through submissions. They plan to have all responses out by the middle of February. Which isn’t really all that long to wait. It’s just that they’ve had it since the end of November, and I hate wating. But that’s my own cross to bear.

I just wish I had some idea of my chances on this one. It’s a major effort with professional pay rates. The editor is a professional writer who has slotted some stories by invitation and some by open submission. So we know the competition is going to be stiff. I think “The Final Quarter” is well written, and I have perhaps a the tiniest bit of an edge in originality (how many pirate tales do you know of that incorporate college football?).

But no matter how good you think you are — or even how good you actually may be — there’s always someone out there who’s better. And it depends on the mood of the editors.

Either way, it’s not a total loss. There are a couple of possible markets for this piece even if it doesn’t make it here, and the theme has spurred writing I would have never attempted otherwise. After I wrote the short story, I decided to expand it into a novel:


What am I reading? Dance of Death by Doulglas Preston and Lincoln Child

3 Comments

  1. Anita Marie said,

    Of course there’s always someone better- but you’re Not on THEIR team you’re on your OWN team…so go team.

    And if you want to expand this story into a novel I hope you’re getting to work on it. I think when the inspiration hits you have to run with it.

    Anita Marie

  2. hamstersbane said,

    The novel is the progress meter I’ve been posting on here 😛

  3. Anita Marie said,

    GO TEAM!

Leave a Reply

