Nuts…

February 16, 2007 at 9:42 pm (Rejections, Writing)

Sometimes things just don’t go your way. Yet another rejection from Fast Ships, Black Sails for “Where the Sun Don’t Shine.” šŸ˜¦

“We liked parts of this, but we’ll have to pass.” Then he suggested I try Shimmer’s pirate issue (the same thing he said for “The Final Quarter” — I guess he’s sending everything their way). I think I’m going to have to pass on that particular piece of advice, however. “Where the Sun Don’t Shine” is too long for Shimmer’s 5,000-word limit, and I don’t know that I could (or would want to) cut enough out to meet it. Plus, I think this story’s good enough to start shopping around to professional markets.

My first stop is Fantasy Magazine. They’re one of the few print publications who take electronic submissions, and I just prefer going that route. If they reject it, I’m considering Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine.

3 Comments

  1. Ian said,

    That sucks, Jeff. They’re still holding onto my story, which certainly isn’t a guarantee that they’ll take it.

    I’m still confident that your story will find a home, though. It seems like you’ve already got some good markets scouted out, so I’ll just shut my mouth and let you get to work. šŸ˜‰

  2. Tehani Wessely said,

    *sigh* Some authors have ASIM at the TOP of their “Places to Submit” lists šŸ™‚

    Cheers
    Tehani
    Editor Issue #4, #16 and #27
    http://www.andromedaspaceways.com

  3. hamstersbane said,

    Hey, I’m still new to this whole thing. Although, to be honest, ASIM may be a better fit. On their submission guidelines: “We want the overall tone of ASIM to be light…” And on the Duotrope listing: “…it’s not the size of the sword, it’s where you stick it. Because too many ‘light-hearted, un-serious’ stories are rejected. Because first-time authors have a hell of a time getting into print.”

    “Where the Sun Don’t Shine” is anything but serious, as the title should indicate.

    My decision was driven by the magazines’ respective response times.

Leave a Reply

