Zombie cowboys and longhorns

February 20, 2007 at 4:50 pm (Writing)

I know I should be working on the novel, but I’ve found once I get a story idea bouncing around my skull, I can’t really do much of anything else until it’s done.

In this case, the story is a cross-genre Western and zombie tale that I hope to have published in the Permuted Press anthology History is Dead. This one’s got it all — zombies, cowboys, longhorns, zombie cowboys and even zombie longhorns. Given that it’s my first zombie tale, I’m rather proud of it. I think I may be even more proud of the title: “That Ain’t a Mosey.” It’s not too often I come up with a title I like that much. I just hope they like the story (I’ll send it after giving it a little bit of the ol’ spit an’ polish).

4 Comments

  1. Ian said,

    Hey, Jeff, I sent Way Out West a story with cowboys and zombies! Great minds think alike, I guess.

    Of course mine were zombie prospectors, but it’s all relative when it comes to zombies. “This Ain’t a Mosey” is a great title. I liked mine, too; it was novella called Deadstock. I’m supposed to hear back soon on whether or not it’ll be in the antho. I sent them a second story, “The Four Cowboys of the Apocalypse.”

    I was on a bit of a Western kick last year. Right after I started picking up the very excellent editions of the collected stories of Louis L’Amour. Damn fine writer.

  2. Anita Marie said,

    Zombies AND Cowboys?!
    How can it miss?
    I don’t know about ‘editors’…they’d do better to give the public ( ahem ) what it wants as opposed to what they think we ‘need’.

  3. hamstersbane said,

    Actually it can miss rather spectacularly. You never really know what they want. And I’m half-afraid they’re going to be deluged with this kind of story (the idea is zombie tales in something other than a modern day urban setting). I’m in the original Cowtown (Fort Worth), and a native Texan. I just couldn’t see myself doing anything else.

    I know a little bit about being an editor, at least from a newspaper point of view. I can say it’s a balancing act. You struggle to give people what they want. Otherwise they won’t buy the paper. Likewise, they’ll turn somewhere else if you’re just giving them a bunch of fecal matter. In the newspaper world, there are things people need to know — what’s going on at City Hall? The school district? Local politics? Etc? The trick is to deliver it in a way so they want to read it. Of course, if you’re out of touch with the community, you’re going to fail big time.

    I’m well aware the literary world is a bit different, but I’d imagine there are some strong parallels as well. The titles give me some confusion, though…from my admittedly limited viewpoint, it seems like they do more selection or weeding than actual editing. Maybe they should change it to Gardener-in-Chief. Or, as the editor of The Edge of Propinquity calls herself, Chief Cat Herder.

  4. Anita Marie said,

    A good zombie story is a good zombie story and sure some of them crash and burn…but come on … your story might be the one that doesn’t.

    As for community…go figure- they spring up around the oddest places- so how can you find a ‘base’ audience in the world of print ( esp. when you introduce the internet to the mix )

    Very frustrating.

Leave a Reply

