It ain’t always easy…

June 10, 2007 at 11:32 pm (Rejections, Writing)

Just reworked some parts of “Of Bones and Blades” based on my Critters critiques. I didn’t do a wholesale rewrite on it — it’s more subtle than that — but it still wasn’t easy. I guess the hard part was reading the critiques in the first place. A lot of it was downright brutal.

One person suggested to me recently that many on Critters might have to visit the bathroom to determine their posteriors from an excavation. I’ve certainly seen evidence of that in these, but I’ve also had to recognize the story had some major problems. I had a rant on here before about an editor’s objections to the story (for Black Dragon, White Dragon). I didn’t get where he was coming from. I guess having a dozen other people hammering the same things at me finally drove the point into my brain.

I tried to make the main character sympathetic by tacking on a desire to save his people, but didn’t really take the time to make his actions jive. He came across as an arrogant SOB and the reasons I gave rang hollow when compared to what he did. People identified more with the dragon he was hunting. I also stuck too much backstory in at the wrong places.

 So I think I solved that by simplifying the backstory in favor of the story’s strongest part all along: The action (it’s a battle sequence). I’ve also just decided to let the main character go ahead and be an SOB. The “save my people” thing isn’t gone entirely, but it’s secondary to him just wanting some really cool weapons.

 Here’s hoping it worked.

 In other news, “Routine Maintenance” has been rejected by Reality Complex.

2 Comments

  1. krissnp said,

    interesting blog.

  2. hamstersbane said,

    Why, thank you.

Leave a Reply

