Hitting the century mark…

January 17, 2008 at 6:52 pm (Rejections, Submissions, Writing)

Today I received my 100th rejection, this time from Clockwork Phoenix.

This was just about the last thing I’ve got to send their way, and I was hoping to make it in to the anthology, but most of the sting is gone. You just pack it up and send it elsewhere.  It’s been a difficult lesson, to be sure, but one I’m rather proud to have made. After all, you can’t get published if you don’t send it out. And if you send things out, you’re going to get rejected. This just shows I’m doing it…I be a writer!

7 Comments

  1. Ian said,

    Congrats, brother, I’m proud of you! 🙂

    I just got my third rejection from CP today myself. We should form a support group.

    I sent my story to Talebones next. Where are you going to send yours?

  2. hamstersbane said,

    Not sure yet. I’ve had some trouble with this one. I think it’s a good story, but it’s a bit on the odd side. Maybe Weird Tales?

    This is my sixth rejection from CP. I’ve had one or two that I were going to work, but no luck so far. They’re kind of hard to figure out.

  3. Ian said,

    Yeah, the guidelines are kind of vague. I sent them three very different stories, but alas, no joy.

    WT is a good market. You should definitely send your story there next.

  4. Camille Alexa said,

    I didn’t even try them. It looks like it’s going to be a beautiful anthology, though. Gorgeous cover and compelling (if opaque) description. I just wrote a story which might have been perfect, but shipped it off somewhere else (another antho market — one with a lot of pro-level competition). You can never tell, yo.

    But hey! Congrats on the whole “I is a writer now” thing!

  5. hamstersbane said,

    Thanks!

  6. Barry said,

    Eerie…I sent one in to them this morning…just barely making it in before the deadline. I don’t even feel that the story fits what they’re looking for, but the story is so peculiar that I don’t really even know WHERE to send it.

    Anyway, 100 rejections….just shows how persistant you are! Keep plugging at it!

  7. hamstersbane said,

    Good luck with that one. I sent my last possible in recently.

Leave a Reply

