Pretty good news…

March 18, 2008 at 9:59 pm (Submissions, Writing)

I submitted a story over to The Age of Blood & Snow last night. I got a hold request this morning. These guys are fast. “Tricksters” is a Vikings vs. Indians tale set in Oklahoma that was inspired by the Heavener Runestone. I saw the thing once when I was a kid, and it’s always stuck with me.

Now a hold request isn’t an acceptance, I know, and I’ve had my share of rejected holds, but the news seems to be pretty good:

Well done.

I am seriously considering “Tricksters” for the anthology. I will let you know in June.

 To my knowledge, only one story has been accepted so far…a “conte cruel” that apparently is of exceptional quality.

I have to say, editor Skadi meic Beorh has been very nice to work with so far. He’s open to queries and before I started writing, I sent him my basic idea and got a couple of pointers on what they did/didn’t want to see.

I also want to thank Barry and Natalie for looking over the story and offering a few pointers.

6 Comments

  1. Erik Smetana said,

    Congrats — hopefully the hold turns into a sold.

  2. Cate said,

    CONGRATULATIONS – I’ve been trying to come up with an idea for that anthology…

  3. hamstersbane said,

    Thanks! Now I just got to refrain from chewing on my nails between now and June.

  4. Birdwatching From Mars said,

    Nice to know it’s gotten the approval. I am still trying to hammer out my sub. I had to go back and check up on my mythology, to make sure I wasn’t taking liberties with it. don’t be at all surprised if I ask for another of our “trades” when it’s done!

    Awesome news and best of luck!

  5. Barry said,

    the above was me. Sorry. Dunno why it has my other blog up by default. oooops

  6. hamstersbane said,

    Not a problem. More of those greflins.

Leave a Reply

